New Music of the Nordic Countries
Last updated: 28.01.20
Printed: 2003 Author: John D. White
Publisher: Pendragon Press ISBN: 978-1576470190
Suppliers: flag15us.gif flag15uk.gif flag15de.gif flag15fr.gif flag15ca.gif flag15it.gif flag15es.gif    

Paperback: 200 pages
Publisher's blurb:
New Music of the Nordic Countries describes the music of Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway and Sweden composed during the latter half of the twentieth century. Along with providing biographical material on most of the living Nordic composers, the book discusses in detail the major trends in Scandinavian contemporary music as well as many of the recent musical works. The 800-page volume is edited by John D. White, a former Scholar to Iceland and a Fellow of the American-Scandinavian Foundation. White is the author of Part III, New Music in Iceland and has enlisted five other distinguished Nordic musical scholars to write the remaining sections of the book.
Bound together philosophically, geographically, and to a significant extent ethnically, the five Nordic countries hold a unique place in today's world. They are populated by talented, creative achievers, and each nation possesses its own special qualities. This is certainly true in its music, yet little of Nordic tone art of the late twentieth century is widely known outside of Northern Europe. Thus, this comprehensive volume will serve a valuable purpose in disseminating knowledge about this important body of music literature.