Sonata in B Flat Major Opus 1: No. 6
Last updated: 19.12.19
Composer: J. Mattheson Suppliers:  
Editor: Edgar Hunt Trio A/A/A
Publisher: Schott & Co. Ltd. Publication: Schott SRL 14
This "Sonata in B flat major" by Johann Mattheson is one of several works which I purchased in June 1983 and were intended to be used by The Schwanewede Recorder Consort. It was briefly looked at, but I quickly decided that it was rhythmically too difficult for youthful intermediate players and it was therefore never played but banned to the oblivion of my collection. Although it has languished, unplayed in my collection but not forgotten ever since. I still bear it in mind when planning the infrequent workshop for use by the likes of Bettina Kiefner, Elisabeth Book or Jutta Köster.
The suite has four movements: Andante (looks very interesting indeed - plenty of traps for the unwary), Allegro (black as coal), Adagio (short, but awash with sixteenths in all voices and Gavotte (relaxation after the previous Adagio).