The Music of Stuart Saunders Smith
Last updated: 17.12.19
Printed: 1995 Author: John P. Welsh
Publisher: William Zinn ISBN: 0935016171
Suppliers: flag15us.gif flag15uk.gif flag15de.gif flag15fr.gif flag15ca.gif flag15it.gif flag15es.gif    

The Excelsior Profile Series of American Composers
Paperback (October 1995), usually ships within 4-6 weeks.
Amazon Review
From Book News, Inc. , June 1, 1996
A study of Stuart Saunders Smith's work includes an investigation into jazz, percussion, beat poetry, musical mobiles, operas, and solo percussion performances. Johnston takes all these elements in hand, detailing the construction of trans-media pieces such as Return and Recall, and scanning selected scores: One for Syl, A Vietnam Memorial, Aussie Blue, Notebook. Includes an interview with the composer, extensive diagrams, and reproductions of the the music scores.
Annotation c. by Book News

Book Description
In the music of Stuart Saunders Smith (b. 1948), jazz, the avant-garde, and sound-text poetry coalesce. Through the years he has concentrated on certain kinds of composition--open form, radio music, trans-media systems, and sound-text poetry. Although Smith considers himself a jazz composer and drummer, his work has been absorbed into a wider range of contemporary musical efforts, both in the United States and Europe. --This text refers to the Hardcover edition.