How the World Wags
Last updated: 22.11.22
CD(s) [Amazon: flag15us.gif flag15uk.gif flag15de.gif flag15fr.gif flag15ca.gif flag15it.gif flag15es.gif ]
Label: Hyperion
Designation: CDH55013
Release Date: 27 July, 1999
Works performed by the City Waites: Barbara Grant (soprano, recorder), Douglas Wooton (tenor, recorder), Keith Thompson (alto/tenor), Nicholas Hayley (bass, recorder) with Pethick Edwards (reader).
  1. Jamaica, or The Jovial Broom Man, or a Kent Soldier's exact relation of all his Travels in Every Nation, his Famous Acts are all Shown Here as in this Story doth appear by Anonymous
  2. Galliard by Maurice Webster
  3. Who liveth so merry by Thomas Ravenscroft
  4. The Saint turned Sinner or The Dissenting Parson's Text Under the Quaker's Petticoats (Anonymous)
  5. Ayre from Little Consort Suite No 1 in G minor by Matthew Locke
  6. Martin said to his man by Thomas Ravenscroft
  7. The Miller of Dee by Anonymous
  8. Packington's Pound by Anonymous
  9. Pox on you for a fop by Henry Purcell
  10. The Hunt is up by John Bennet
  11. Almain by Cuthbert Hely
  12. The Jolly Barber or The Barber fitted by a Wanton Miss of the Town by Anonymous
  13. As I walked forth or The Deceased Maiden Lover by Robert Johnson II
  14. Seldom cleanly to the tune 'Upon a Summer's Time' by Martin Parker
  15. Sonata for Recorder and Continuo in G by William Croft
  16. Tomorrow the Fox will come to towne by Thomas Ravenscroft
  17. The Winchester Wedding by Thomas d' Urfey
  18. Sarabande from Little Consort Suite No 1 in G minor by Matthew Locke
  19. Gather ye rosebuds while you may by William Lawes
  20. A Bellman's Song by Thomas Ravenscroft